Survival Question Number Eight: Money

The eighth question in our list of basic survival questions is one I’m sure many of us have problems with:

8.  How much CASH [sic] money do I have stockpiled for emergencies?

The original adds that the assumption should be that checks and credit cards would be worthless in survival situations.  It then suggests that you should have at least $200 cash stockpiled for emergencies.

The problems I think most of us would have with this include, first and foremost: “I have a hard enough time setting aside $200 cash for monthly expenses!  How am I supposed to have that much set aside for emergencies?!?”  I’m sure, though, that we’re all making an attempt to be at least a little frugal–with the economy as it is these days, it’s almost a requirement.  That being said, it shouldn’t be that hard to put aside, say $5 at a time–for instance, every time you go grocery shopping–and put it somewhere you’ll be less tempted to grab it for day-to-day spending.  It won’t take long before you’ve got $100, and not much longer from there to $200.  More, of course, is–well, more.

A lot of folks will now argue, “But in a TEOTWAWKI situation, that cash will be worthless!  I’m stocking up on pre-1965 silver coins!”   Here’s where my outlook seems to differ from that of most.  This argument has, to my mind, two flaws.  First, I’m not prepping solely for the End of the World, but also for floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, etc.  During minor localized emergencies, the national economy will probably not collapse–and the cash will still be worth something.  At least enough to get my family and I to our bug-out location and (relative) safety.  Second, in the event of a financial apocalypse, barter will be just as valuable, if not more so, than coinage of any type, particularly immediately after the collapse and quite probably for a very long time after.  The situation would be rather like that of medieval England: Coinage existed, but you had to be quite wealthy to use it for much.  Most of the “regular folk” got by with barter.  Again, I need to use a posting at some point in the future to more fully expound my particular feelings on this.

In the meantime, I must agree with the original post’s last addition:  Having any amount of cash stockpiled, even if it is less than $200, is better than having no cash stockpiled.  Again, we’re prepping for everything, not just TEOTWAWKI.  What are your thoughts?

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Survival Questions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Survival Question Number Eight: Money

  1. wyndwalkr says:

    I always keep some cash around. I just am not a person wants to pay for every little thing with a charge card. A quick stop for a McChicken, fries and a drink and put that 3 bucks on a charge card? Nah. I don’t use ATMs and I don’t want to stop at my out of the way bank (not a Mega Bank) just to replenish cash all the time. So some is stashed for convenience. I really only set foot in my bank 4 or 5 times a year.

    We can’t predict what the emergency might be. In some cases cash might be useful for a while. After that, people can’t eat gold or silver coins. You want to buy something from someone or pay them for doing work for you, you may be better off if you can trade them a couple cans of boned chicken, a pound of pasta and some quick oats.

    In my opinion gold especially and even silver is for those people who want to protect their wealth when a cash/plastic/electronic money system falls apart. They think “when it is all over and things are back to normal” (ha) they will be on top again. Scrooge McDuck had his room full of shiny coins, but he lays there dead, no food or water.

Leave a Reply

