Cognitive dissonance

No, I’m not talking about the current Presidential race, or even any of the down-ticket ones.  To be fair, there’s more than a little cognitive dissonance going on there, with a few logical fallacies thrown in for good measure; that’s all to say nothing of the flat-out untruths that are wandering around.

What I’m thinking of for the moment is an interesting little post I found: 26 things to get done before the global debt collapse.  Reading the intro, one gets the impression that they’re expecting said collapse to happen in the very near future.  (The last paragraph mitigates this somewhat, but how many people do you think will do more than glance at it?)  The author then goes on to list the titular 26 things.  I’ll not include them all here, but I would like to discuss the list as a whole, as well as a few individual items.

Overall, I like the list–if you can get everything done there (to whatever degree your personal paranoia level feels okay with), you’ll be pretty well set as a prepper–past the early starting basics, but not all the way to full-blown Doomsday Survivalist mode.  I’m curious what the author actually thinks the timeline is; as I mentioned, I definitely got the impression that they were looking in the “probably under a year” range.  Going on that assumption, I can’t see how one could hope to accomplish quite a few things on the list.  “Learn and practice basic gardening skills” isn’t something one does over a weekend, nor is “learn how to raise goats, chickens, or other small animals.”  “Get fit” can be anywhere on a broad spectrum; for me, I could probably walk around more, perhaps do a bit more cardio–but then, I’ve been manually splitting wood at the farm; anybody who has spent more than a little time swinging a splitting maul knows that it’s no joke as a workout.  I know more than a few people for whom “getting fit” could be a full-time job for 6-8 months, and that would bring them nearly to where I am right now….

Other particular bits that had me scratching my head: they’re worried about the power grid failing (buy hardcover books, in case of that)–but not so concerned about money in the bank (assuming small, local ones, not the “big globalist” ones).  Banks don’t keep huge amounts of cash on hand–a large chunk of money these days is “imaginary,” existing only in computer-based accounts and ledgers.  (I’m not even going to touch the “fiat money” idea today; I’ll save that for some other time.)  I’ve mentioned that I have issues with the hoarding of gold and silver; the author advocates for those, as well as nickels.  And my “nutcase alarm” goes off (quite possibly unfairly, but there it is) any time I hear someone talking about their colloidal silver medical supplements–another bit I’ll have to discuss at some future point.  The last point also implies that making one’s own socks is a nightmarish undertaking of herculean proportions–something you “absolutely do not want to have to do later on.”  Maybe I’m just old-fashioned, but I’ve got no problem pulling out some knitting in the evening, as I relax in front of the fire…

Okay, so what did I find good about the list?  Well, several recommendations were good, I think, on general principle.  Make sure you’re up to date on your apologies and forgiveness; it’s never good to let things like that fester.  Get yourself out of debt as best you can.  Do, in fact, get started with your gardening and livestock (where you can)–any start is better than none; I think you’re more likely to have at least a few years to get things going.  (I’m not so great with “emergency seed storing”–I think the best place to store seeds is in healthy, growing plants…)  Again, overall, it’s a good list; I just wouldn’t worry so much about getting it done within the next year.  This list strikes me as a good 5- to 10-year plan.  (By the time you’ve reached the end, the Slow Collapse may have proceeded to the point that some parts of the list are no longer “nice to have/know/have done,” but actually immediately relevant to daily life…)

Does anyone have things to add to the list?  Other gripes with what’s there?  (And while I’m thinking about it, what are your thoughts on my penchant for going through lists like this with a critical eye?  Should I back off a bit, or keep going with it?)

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Critical Thought, Planning, Skills and Practice, Survival Questions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cognitive dissonance

  1. TElbe says:

    I appreciate your looking at information with a critical eye. It puts things in a different light, if there wasn’t you looking at things rationally, I’d propably given up by now, with the thought that I’ll never get it done before the doomsday senerio happens.
    I read in the 26 things to do list, that I needed to move to the country. I do live in a major city and cannot afford to drop everything and move to a remote location, for some that’s just not feasbile. I have a good crew of friends in the city that live a rough mile from each other and we are committed to supporting each other. One is a city police officer (security), one is very advanced in medical knowledge with out having a degree, another can fix anything…it goes on. But we’ve got the basics covered.
    Thanks for doing what you do!

Leave a Reply

