Why? Why not? Part Five

Herewith, part five of the list of reasons people won’t prep.  In the interest of getting through the list more quickly (and since our dear friends the Congressional Republicans have decided I need a few days off, possibly unpaid), this is points twenty-one through thirty of thirty-five total, meaning there will be one more of these…  (The original posting with the entire list is here.)

21.  Survival and prepping for the worst is negative, as long as I stay positive, only the positive will happen.

Been reading The Secret much, lately?  While I’ll agree that visualization of positive things (winning a race, successfully playing that complicated piece in the piano solo) helps ‘prime’ the brain to be positive/successful, it doesn’t work nearly as well as it might on the rest of the universe.  Bad things happen to bright, cheery, positive people, too; one way to *remain* bright, cheery, and positive, is to recognize this fact, and act to be ready for them.

22.  Preppers/Survivalists are radical, paranoid, conspiracy driven out of touch with reality, I don’t want anything to do with them.

If you’re a regular to my blog here, you’ll know that one of my guiding principles is keep your ear to the ground, keep up with the news, and don’t buy in to the conspiracy theorists.  If your view of all preppers comes from a certain “reality” TV series (there’s an oxymoron, if ever I’ve seen one), then yes–you probably believe that all preppers/survivalists are loopy.  Nevertheless, when most people visit my farmstead for the first time, their first reaction isn’t “Oh, you’re one of those people…”  I prefer remaining firmly grounded in reality, while trying to cover my bases for unplanned emergency scenarios.  Nothing radical, paranoid, or conspiracy-driven there, right?

23.  I don’t know why everyone is so worried, times are better and safer now than ever in human history.

Perhaps ‘times’ are, generally–but that doesn’t mean that your local world can’t come crashing down on you, even if only temporarily.  ‘Times’ are good, but things weren’t so good in New Orleans after Katrina, or on the Atlantic coast after Sandy, or in San Francisco after the Loma Prieta quake in ’89.  I would also advocate against ‘worry’, much less ‘fear’: what I’m aiming for most of the time is ‘thoughtful preparedness’. As I’ve mentioned on multiple occasions, this tends to assuage the worry and/or fear.

24.  There is so much to prepping, I’ll take my chances that nothing will happen.

That’s a heck of a crapshoot.  In any particular area, there are things that can constitute an “emergency”, up to and including a total collapse, however unlikely.  Putting away a little food & water, plus a couple of other necessities (toilet paper, candles/flashlights, etc.), should be quick and easy; even a little bit of preparedness puts you ahead of your “average Joe”.  Beyond that, in my view, you might be further along than you think–do you know your neighbors? Have a good relationship with at least one of them? Pooling resources is a good way to go, and ‘community’ trumps a lot of other things (although, again–food & water are necessities).

25.  All my investments go right into what makes me money and gives me security for the future.

Well, that’s great. A sound investment strategy to provide future security is a spectacular idea, and something we should all be looking into. However, since “past performance is not a reliable indicator of future success,” what will you do if and when things go south? How will your money, investments, and “security” help you after your house has been ravaged by whatever passes for a disaster locally (hurricane, earthquake, tornado, wildfire, plague of locusts, etc.)? Every financial adviser worth their salt recommends ‘diversified investing’; I’d call even minimal prepping a good way to diversify.

26.  Why bother storing up that much food and supplies, mobs will just come in and take it.

Unless you’ve got your OPSEC on. I agree with the original poster here: if you tell your neighbors you’re a grocery store, expect to have your shelves cleared (just like the ‘regular’ grocery stores). I’m much more hesitant to recommend quite the robust self-defense suggested in the original; I prefer ‘security through obscurity’, but will also recommend layered security. (As with everything else, take whatever steps you feel you need to; my solution isn’t/shouldn’t be the same as yours…)

27.  I have a refrigerator and a cupboard full of food, 2 cases of water, a 12 pack of toilet paper, I am all set.

I’d be hesitant to rely on the refrigerator, but otherwise you’ve got a great start.  Now, what happens if the problem at hand requires you to leave your house (house fire), with all of your ‘preps’ inside? Have you plotted out some sort of go-bag? evacuation plan? any sort of disaster preparedness? (Really, the previous ‘excuse’, this one, and the next one are all points along a spectrum–and surprisingly close points, at that.)

28.  If something happens I will just run to the grocery store and stock up before it closes.

If you have the advance warning. If you can get there before it’s cleared out by everyone else trying to stock up. If you have the money set aside to get the stuff. And going to ‘stock up’ without a plan for what you’ll get is seldom a good idea. (Always with the flour, milk, and toilet paper–two out of three are good for longer-term, but the trio always just reminds me of pâpier-maché…)

29.  If we become sick after a disaster we have good medical treatment centers that will care for us.

If the treatment centers are open, have supplies, and have water. In point of fact, after a local catastrophe your best bet is to be somewhere else. And in the unlikely event of a ‘Mad Max’-style collapse, it’s best to not get sick–the necessary treatments probably won’t be available. Whatever you may hear from the anti-vaccination crowd, having your shots up-to-date is by far the lesser evil (I’ve seen the effects of some of those diseases; you really don’t want to go there). Having a well-equipped first-aid kit is a good idea. I wouldn’t go so far as stocking up on antibiotics, necessarily (their storage tends to be finicky), but that’s certainly an option.

30.  Nothing is as bad as it ever seems, stop overblowing everything as doomsday.

And nothing is always sweetness and light, either. We’re not overblowing everything as doomsday (unlike some folks on certain TV shows I could name); a much more rational approach is to prepare for things that are actually likely to happen, however small. If you’ve got the small stuff covered, you will have at least taken huge steps towards covering the big stuff.

Next week: The Vehicle Go-Bag, and probably a little about my EDC.  Also, my wife has suggested that I try to do a semi-regular (once a month?) “special” how-to posting, aside from my regular Thursday posts. Any interest? (If you’d like to see me do a post on anything in particular, let me know–I’ll see if I can work it in…)  Enjoy!

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Collapse, Community, Critical Thought, Food, Lists, Planning, Survival Questions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why? Why not? Part Five

  1. Ann Dinapoli says:

    What a great idea. I would love to hear the how to of your own experience farming and balancing life and family. Your thoughts, your issues, your family’s experience. I love the why and why not series. It provides me with the morale boost that keeps me going in the face of deniers who belittle my efforts. It has even facilitated my educating my Father’s caretaker to check out FEMA and take the first steps towards preparation for natural, economic, or personal crisis.

    It is most appreciated that I do not have to tolerate a rightwinger rant while reviewing your blog. You are no left winger by my estimations, but you do respectfully sidestep divisive political rants. I don’t view prepping as a political, but rather an act of love and devotion to family and community.
    Thanks from an old revolutionary pinko commie,Ann

    • Ha! I may not seem “left-wing”, but that’s only because I don’t put it “in-your-face” on my blog. In real life, I’m about as left as they come–the Republicans of 30 years ago would probably have labeled me “Communist,” to say nothing of today’s crop of right-wingers.

      I suppose I could do a bit more ‘ranting’ about social issues (the defunding of SNAP & WIC infuriates me, for instance; let’s not get me started on the Shutdown), but I don’t think that’s what people come to this blog for. (If I’m wrong, let me know–I can certainly add more of that!)

      I agree, prepping isn’t (shouldn’t be?) political. Maybe it’s the Virgo in me (Sun, Rising, and 1st House), but it simply seems rational/logical. I can’t think of a good reason *not* to set a little aside, on the ‘just-in-case’, even if it’s only a very little…

      I’ll be certain to do a post (or three or five) about the work/farm/family balance. Thanks for the suggestion, glad I can be of help with the morale & helping your Father’s caretaker; glad you’re here, reading, too! (It’s nice to know that I’m not merely sending words out into the ether, unseen by anyone…)

  2. Tyna says:

    I like your wife’s idea of a monthly “how to” blog. I live in a medium sized city, I’d like to see some information on gardening in a very small area. What ideas can you share? Also, maybe some ideas on budget prepping, since I just took a bit of a pay cut at work. I have a good start, but it’s not great.
    I found your blog by searching for “liberal preppers”. I love that you don’t share the doomsday, and political preaching that so many other sites do. Just good common scense prepping for most disasters.
    Thanks
    Tyna

    • Hello, and welcome!
      Thanks for the ideas–small-space gardening is something I’m familiar with, as is working within a budget. 🙂 I’ll be sure to try to hit those topics in future posts.
      I’m glad you like the blog–I deliberately try to steer away from the hyperbole I see elsewhere. (Getting crazy doesn’t seem to serve any real purpose, now, does it?) I hope you’ll stick around!
      –LWS

Leave a Reply

