Where to go from here?

Okay, I’ll  admit it.  Things lately feel to me as if we’re waiting for something.  There’s a tension in the air…  It’s not the same as late 2012, when there was a definite strain; this is a bit more subtle, almost like we’re waiting for the other shoe to drop.  I’m not certain what exactly the first shoe was…  which may in fact be part of the problem.

Aside from picking up my annual head cold while visiting relatives over Thanksgiving, I had the opportunity to walk away from a couple of conversations with some of the further “right” of them.  I also had the opportunity to remind one of them–one whom I think of as generally “just a hair left of center” (somewhat odd, given that he’s a Baptist minister*)–of why the ACA is a good thing.  Or, at least, it’s a step in the right direction.  He had just asked me what I thought the President’s next move should be, regarding healthcare; my response:  “Finish getting the website working, then let it be–it needs to work a little, to sort itself out.”  He opined that he wasn’t thrilled with the idea of a few freeloaders “hitching a ride” on the handouts that his taxes pay for.

(* I know; his being a minister doesn’t automatically rule out any sort of liberalism–my brother & sister-in-law are also Baptist ministers, and they’re more than a few degrees left of center.  Let’s just say that none of them fit the stereotype…)

At about this point, I had a bit of a melt-down.  My answer to him, in summary:  Personally, I’d prefer single-payer healthcare.  It’s what I had in the military, and it worked well enough there.  The government is good at organizing that sort of huge, over-arching thing (universal healthcare)–it’s one of the reasons we have a government.  Will they get it right the first time?  Nope.  They never have, in my experience.  But they’ve always kept working on it until it got fixed.  Are there going to be people who game the system?  Yes; there always have been, and there always will be.  But they’re a relative minority.  So the big question regarding healthcare has to be:

Do we want to risk being “over-generous” to a few who don’t need it, or “not generous enough” to the many who do need it?

He looked a bit taken aback at this, and thoughtful for a moment.  I’m hopeful that he took it on board, and remembered what his God stood (stands?) for.

So, all of that off my chest, where shall we go from here?  I can probably find a few more lists to go over, out in the series of tubes we call the internet.  I’m certain there are other preps that we can discuss.  I’m about to start curing a whole series of meats over the next month or two; maybe some more preservation discussions?  What say you, dear readers?

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Collapse, Critical Thought, Make it Stop, News, Planning, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where to go from here?

  1. Carla says:

    I’m always amazed at the “Christians” who want to look back at Leviticus to justify their bigotry but somehow conveniently forget that Christ taught we should love our neighbors as ourselves and take care of the least among us. I don’t remember a passage about Jesus not healing or feeding someone who might be gaming the system. Nice “Christian” values that minister has — no wonder there is a rise in atheism in the world.

    • To be fair, he’d been having a rough couple of days–to include his son (another minister) basically being in “thrall” to *his* father-in-law (you guessed it–another minister), and more or less ignoring his own father. And he’s normally a pretty “New Testament” sort of Christian.

Leave a Reply

