Very short

This week will be brief, because reasons.  We’re trying to keep things from floating away with the recent torrential rains, watching the skies for those horrible twisty-cloud things, and work just took a left-turn into the somewhat surreal.

How are your preps going?  We’re quite happy that we’ve kept up with our Electricity-Free Day practice; if (when?) the power goes out, we’re all set, and know what to do.  Should the fates throw a tornado our way (possible, but not very likely, given the local terrain), we’ve got our go-bags and 72-hour kits, and can drag the animals quickly down into the cellar…  We’ve water and to spare, in case of fires, so not much worry there.  Big, natural-disaster type calamities, and we’re set.

So, when the wife’s friend calls–you know, the one who’s been hospitalized, the one who probably couldn’t cook a marshmallow, given a stick and an open fire–starts trying to advise us on preps for if a tornado should come through, it was all I could do to laugh.

Next week, unless something more interesting strikes me, I’ll give my thoughts on emergency lighting.  Keep dry, out there!

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Critical Thought, Gear, Make it Stop, Skills and Practice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Very short

  1. Ann Dinapoli says:

    I have friends outside of Huntsville, AL who are biting their nails, but I think they will be OK. I hope. I lived for many years in Sheffield, AL, in the Muscle Shoals area. I have to say I would take earthquakes over tornadoes any day (May I not regret saying that anytime soon). Drought on the other hand is more terrifying to Californians than earthquakes. Drought and heat waves are like a long slow death. Then there are the wild fires. Our area is suburban. Many communities have allowed the building of the houses along the ridge of mountains that runs the length of our county. These homes are all nestled in amongst oak forest and chaparral. The roads in those ares are narrow and twisty. A fire in one of those areas could move very quickly into the urban communities along the Bay. Most years we are saved by fog, but eventually these areas will burn and it will make the Oakland Hills Fire of several decades ago look like nothing. So preparing for evacuation due to fire is becoming a priority in this household. We just broke all time temperature records for the end of May here. There was a really nice rain about two weeks ago, about 0.5 inches, but nothing since. It is a struggle to keep my 90+ Dad hydrated and his lungs clear. One thing no one mentions in the all the talk about climate change is how hotter temps and poor air quality that comes with it affect the elderly. Prepping is going well. I am trying to find space in the garage for a 55 gal water barrel. If I had time I would put in an aquaponics system for fresh veggies and fruits through the summer. A closed water system where there is reduced evaporation is looking more and more attractive. I have mulched my brains out to reduce water. I will be adding several Toyon bushes to the yard. Toyon is a native and can survive and fruit with almost no water. The fruit is a bit bland and there are no recipes at all for how to use them. The local native tribes used the fruit extensively, but being as all of the local tribes were runoff or murdered by the European and American settlers, there is no way to recover their knowledge of plant lore. My granddaughter and I will be experimenting this summer, trying to create some interesting recipes from the berries. I pray you and yours will be safe and “hope the water don’t rise and the bridge don’t fall.” (that’s something my grandfather was always saying).

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

