Responsible.

Okay, I said we were going to talk responsibilities this week.  I’ve got a couple I’d like to outline, just to get the ball rolling…

First, if you’re going to complain about something, especially what the “guv’mint” is doing, be prepared with a solution.  Not just a “don’t do that;” come up with a different solution for whatever the problem is that the government is trying to solve.  (I find that a surprising number of these solutions involve getting up off one’s behind and doing something oneself.)  I understand that this takes a disturbing amount of thought and contemplation. I understand full well that this is a “pie-in-the-sky” sort of wish.  I also understand that I’m guilty of it myself, from time to time.  This brings me to my second responsibility, which is:

Acknowledge that you might be wrong–more than just occasionally. Just because you’ve accepted something as true doesn’t make it so.  And if you find you have to let one of those things go, it doesn’t destroy the fabric of your being.  Being wrong occasionally is part and parcel of being human, which (if you’re reading this blog) I assume applies to you.  Far too often we see the people who have invested everything into some aspect–usually their religion–and any challenge to it is taken as a personal affront to themselves.

The third thing would be to learn some “openness.”  This is sort of two things, I think: first, you’ve got to learn to learn; then, you’ve got to practice open-mindedness.  This is hard–usually, I believe, because it’s a bit of a catch-22, where you’ve got to get each one before you can get the other one.  For starters, you’ve got to understand the why’s and wherefore’s of your own position; then, go on to examine challenging things.  By this, of course, I mean both “advanced stuff” for your current position, and (importantly) things that run counter to it. (“If all the news you see backs up your opinion, in every particular, is it really news?”)

I know you’re out there–what are some more responsibilities?

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

All of this is against the backdrop of another looming Iraq conflict.  This one, for a bit of a twist, would have us partnering a bit with the Syrian regime, Iran, Hezbollah, Hamas, Israel, Iraq, and (possibly) Russia, China, and others.  Quite the web we weave, eh?

I must say, I’m pleased with the much more measured approach we’re taking this time around.  Do I feel we have to do something? Most likely–to do nothing while evil is afoot is immoral.  Do I see things going in bad directions and to places we can’t foresee?  Again, most likely.

Meantime, I can’t shake the nagging feeling that  the catabolic collapse is getting ready for another (probably? hopefully?) small-ish step down, although for the life of me I couldn’t tell you from what direction I think it’ll come.  Still, everybody out there keep safe, okay?

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Collapse, Critical Thought, Government, Make it Stop, Planning, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

