Scared, Yet?

If not, you might not be paying attention.

Now, this isn’t an existential dread. No, this is a worry for what may be coming–another type of disaster, if you will; one that I fear is more than a little bit likely. (Not probable, in my estimation, but there’s definitely a non-zero chance.) I don’t go down this path lightly–I’ve mentioned on numerous occasions that any time someone is trying to scare you, you need to check what they’re selling.

I’m not selling anything.  I’m just advising caution, and being at least emotionally prepped.  We, as a country, are looking at the possibility of not merely a Republican presidency (which we’d get through with only fairly minor pain), not even “just” a Cruz presidency (which would hurt quite a bit more, I think)–but at a Trump presidency.

Unless the man undergoes a massive personality shift through late November and December, there’s really no telling what might happen to the country.  Oh, I don’t think it would necessarily collapse–but I’d be not the least surprised to find ourselves two, maybe even three steps down that “stairstepped slow fall” before all is said and done.

It’s been curious, watching the rise.  For my money, though I thought he was absurd, I’ve not doubted that he’d get significant backing, probably win a couple of states. I certainly never expected the type of following that he’s whipped up.  (And ‘whipped up’ is indeed the right phrase–they’re nothing if not frothing.)

The fooforaw over replacing Justice Scalia is an interesting mess, too.  Various members of both parties have made statements about why President Obama should or should not be able to nominate someone, and why the Senate should or should not advise, and then (after a vote) either give or withhold consent.  Whatever else there may be about the situation, “not doing anything” is probably the last thing needed.

It certainly feels as though we’re living through the fabled Chinese curse, and “living in interesting times.”

I’m thinking about starting a series of gear reviews, and maybe going over “basic” home preps over the next few months.  Water, food, etc.  I hope you’ll stick around!

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Critical Thought, Government, Make it Stop, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scared, Yet?

  1. Dave says:

    I could not agree more. I know there has been a seething of resentment by the types of people who agree with Trump. They feel no one speaks for them. Now they have this celebrity who is “brave” enough to spew the hate for them(catch phrase “tells it like it is”). They couldn’t be happier. It’s depressing to watch. Hopefully the more moderate and thoughtful citizenry will come through in the end.

  2. Sue Lester says:

    Yes, I am scared. However, I’m not sure how we could prepare for 4, 8 or maybe more years of a Trump presidency.

  3. Janet says:

    What is most telling to me is that we area following (perfectly) a historical trajectory. The meme goes like this: powerful country spends decades making poor decisions and ignoring reality of resource limitations and cost of upkeep of services and infrastructure (all made during ascendency). Times become gradually more and more difficult, but no one either wants to reverse the decades-long mistakes (too painful) or, too often, even has the intellectual chops & corresponding education to correctly articulate the problems.

    The masses want easy answers. They want a Strong Man (read W.E.DuBois on America’s Strong Man model*) who will fix many complicated things quickly and return the country to it’s greatness. And so we go. It’s always disastrous. (For a more recent example, read about Silvio Berlusconi, billionaire businessman and former Italian Prime Minister.)

    But people want easy answers and will follow any charismatic figure who tells them that their problems are all do to a common enemy (fill in the blank on that one) and all they need to do is build a wall or shut certain people out or whatever and then all will be well.

    *In short, DuBois defined the Strong Man as “Individualism coupled with the rule of might”. BTW, I highly recommend his written works. He had a brilliant mind.

    Sorry to write a book!

  4. freethnkr1965 says:

    Honestly, there’s not one candidate on the Republican side that doesn’t scare the bejeezus out of me this time. Usually there’s at least one that I think I could suffer through but it’s almost like the Republican Party thought there was no way they could win this cycle so they just let all the crazy out – like a catharsis or something.
    Personally I think Trump is just the logical outcome of the “Southern Strategy” thinking started by Nixon, perfected by Reagan, and bolstered by William F. Buckley’s hypocritical “everyman” philosophy.
    What is truly disappointing me though is the low turnout on the Democratic side.
    Enough! 🙂 If I continue writing I will only turn morose. Hahaha.

  5. Janet says:

    You know, there’s a whole grief process one has to go through when watching the end of “our” empire. Just knowing about it intellectually isn’t enough. I definitely believe we are in the ‘hook’ part of the hockey stick (for those who know that analogy) and yet watching the negative consequences our desperate society keeps choosing…brings grief. It appears that we would rather die than change. I’m struggling with what to do about the grief, but I do think recognizing it helps. It helps me cope with the fear and keep moving rather than getting bogged down in depression.

    I hope the Democrats can get it together. I’ll help where I can, but it doesn’t seem to be where the country wants to head right now. However, if you look at our history, that’s not anything new. The U.S. has a llooooonnnnngggggg history of pretty violent repression of progressive movements (everything from McCarthyism to the CIA support of violent & oppressive right-ist regimes all over the world…trust me, you don’t want to get too deep into reading about that one). This country was also BUILT on the enslavement, displacement, murder, and oppression of tens of millions of people…and then there’s our violent war history. Since 1776, the U.S. has been at war during 214 out of our 235 calendar years of existence. (In other words, there were only 21 calendar years in which the U.S. did not wage any wars.) The U.S. has never gone a decade without war. Etc.

    The point I’m trying to make is that this country’s obsession with blustering right-wing “Strong Men” (using DuBois’ term) people and tactics is a large part of the U.S. psyche/culture, made worse by the fact that “we” think we are a peaceful Christian people bringing light to the world (our interference almost always makes things worse). Trump is just assuming the mantle for those who have a lot invested in continuing this myth.

Leave a Reply

