Getting Home

This week will be briefer than I would like. I had planned on having lots of time to write the post, but then real life happened.  At any rate, I was going to redux my GHB.

As I believe I mentioned last time, I’ve been slowly adding things to my bag. This has resulted in my previous pouch getting stuffed–so I got a new bag.  This one is a sling-style, so I can actually put it over a shoulder, whereas my “old” pouch just had a pair of straps that would act as a handle. The new bag has MOLLE-style attachments, so the old pouch attaches quite nicely. And I’ve more than doubled my storage!

Since the old pouch was for carrying a water bottle, and it was now free, I picked up a 1-liter Nalgene bottle to go in it. I’m not putting water in it, yet–that would make it too heavy, and I’d have to be way too diligent about changing out the water so it wouldn’t go stagnant. No, for now, I’ll be putting things in it that absolutely, positively have to stay dry. Water will be for later–besides, that’s what I’ve got the Lifestraw for, right?

I also found a metal cup with folding wire handles that fits beautifully on the end of the water bottle. It can serve as a cooking utensil in a pinch, in addition to being one more thing to drink out of. I’ve also added a CRKT Eat’n Tool, which is a cute little spork-like object to use when eating. One thing I haven’t settled on yet is an emergency food item. I’m tempted to go with something freeze-dried, but most of the ones I’ve laid my hands on run to eight servings in a pouch, which is more than I need.  I’m looking for maybe one or two meals, tops; I’m keeping my eyes and options open, and I’m happy to entertain suggestions in the comments.

Two other items I’ve added are a sharpening tool and a first-aid kit. The sharpening tool is a Lansky Blade Medic; it seems to work pretty well, for “emergency purposes”. I’m generally opposed to the “pull the blade through the V” sharpeners; in an emergency, though, it’d be better than nothing. Besides, the rod for touching up serrations doubles as a honing steel, which is all you need most of the time, anyway. And given that the knife was inexpensive, I’m not really all that concerned about it. (Speaking of the knife, I’m considering getting a handful more of them for daily use around my shop, etc.; they’re not at all bad, especially for the price.)

The first aid kit was from Northbound Train, and it’s quite small (maybe 5″ square by an inch thick?), has a surprising number of things in it, and also has MOLLE attachments to stick it to the bag (saving room on the inside). I’m going to stock it with a number of extra things–not nearly enough band-aids, I’d like a tube of antibacterial ointment, that sort of thing–but it’s definitely a good start.

A few other items I’ve been considering: I’ll probably add a pair of socks to the kit. I’m considering replacing, or at least supplementing, the pen I’ve got in the bag with a carpenter’s pencil. A local map, or at least a state map, would probably be useful, as well.

What do you think?  What am I missing? I’m sure there’s something, and I’m sure everyone out there has an opinion…  I’d love to hear them!

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Critical Thought, Gear, Planning, Post-Collapse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Home

  1. Thank you, brief but helpful. After the fires last year in Northern California, I got to speak with several people about their experiences in being evacuated. One was sent to a high school where the no knives policy was strictly enforced. They found their bug out supplies necessary, but in future they told me that they would carry both a TSA approved multi tool w/o a blade and a multitool with a blade or pocket knife.

Leave a Reply

