A Little Light

Reading, that is.  I recently picked up the book 52 Prepper Projects: A Project a Week to Help You Prepare for the Unpredictable, by David Nash.  I’m not exactly reading it cover-to-cover, but glancing at it from time to time, gleaning little bits. I’ve got to say, I like the premise: it starts fairly simple, and things build up in complexity week by week.Even at that, there’s only a few things I’d class as “difficult” towards the end (converting lawn mower engines into generators, and the like).

A few pros: they give “shopping lists” for each chapter.  A couple of things–inexpensive things, mostly–to toss in the shopping cart each week. They also provide a “to do” list for each chapter.  Each of these, again, build from week to week.  As an example, here’s the Week 1 list:

To Buy:

  • 1 gallon water (for each person)
  • 1 jar peanut butter
  • 1 large can juice (for each person)
  • 1 can meat (for each person)
  • Hand-operated can opener
  • Permanent marking pen
  • Pet food, diapers, and baby food, if needed

To Do:

  • Find out what kinds of disasters can happen in your area. The easiest way to do this is to talk to your local emergency management agency, but you can also research local history at the library or the local newspaper. This will help focus your preparedness activities by letting you know what threats are realistic and which are not.
  • Date each perishable item using a marking pen.

Now, I like all of the above.  It’s reasonable, rational, and overall a good place to start. Where things break down, at least in the parts that I’ve read, is in relying on the reader having a clue.  This isn’t always the case–if you’re just starting out in getting gear together, as seems to be the premise of this book, you don’t necessarily know what to do for certain things. Example: Project 1 (week 1) talks BoBs.  It also breaks out the BoB (Bug Out Bag), the INCH (I’m Not Coming Home), the GOOD (Get Out Of Dodge), the GHB (Get Home Bag), the EDC (Every Day Carry), the IFAK (Individual First Aid Kit), 72-hour kits, and the military “Line Gear” system.  That’s all great.  As to what to put in to them?  Nothing concrete.  In fact, their recommendation: “put together a 72-hour kit to get you by until you finish your incremental disaster kit” (that being, ultimately, some of the stuff you’re buying each week).  Then they suggest taking one weekend, and turning off the power and water, and live off your kit, to see how it works.  All generally good ideas–but what, in very broad terms, should be going into the full disaster kit, whichever acronym you decide to use?

So, I’ll call this generally worthwhile, but maybe better as a second book on the subject, rather than a first?  I haven’t really found anything objectionable–the authors are really good about not going hyperbolic “OMG, the world’s going to end, it’ll be like Mad Max!”.  Overall, I’d give it 4 stars out of 5.

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Critical Thought, Gear, Lists, Planning, Post-Collapse, Skills and Practice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Little Light

  1. arlene baker says:

    I am so frustrated with the Dem party, and most left folks. They have not been listening to what you have taught us about framing and language. They continue to do negative campaigns using the very words of the right. All the Dump Trump merely reinforces him, doesn’t it??

    You need training camps in every town, teaching your methods of communication in a ground-floor way.

    • I can certainly understand your frustration; I think that for the most part, us “left folks” are doing pretty well with framing and language.
      I would much prefer “seminars” over “training camps”–and while I’m flattered that you think I’d be a good teacher for that particular topic, I’m not so certain, myself.
      We just have to keep in mind that everybody likes being treated with respect, and move on from there.

  2. ansullivan says:

    YAY!! I’m so pleased to have found you… a prepper that isn’t entirely right-wing and / or “ACK! It’s all going to be Mad Max. Watch out!!”. So, given what you said about this being best as a second book… is there a book you’d recommend as a first? Thanks! 🙂

    • Hm. I’ll have to think about this one… Expect a full answer in an upcoming post. For starters, though, I’d hit up the FEMA and CDC websites, and see what they advise; for all of FEMA’s organizational issues, they have a good piece on 72-hr emergency kits. And I’ve got nothing but good things to say about the CDC. 🙂 –LWS

  3. Pingback: Books, and Beginnings | leftwingsurvivalist

  4. Ranger says:

    I work on the National Mall in Washington DC and am assembling a simple get home bag. I live seventy miles out of town in Western Maryland. I work in a city that is demonstrably a target for terrorism and if an event happens all trains will be suspended and the roads in and out will become closed or jammed. If the worst happens my plan is to grab a bicycle, which I have access to, peddle up to Penn Ave to Georgetown and get on the C&O canal towpath and peddle myself home which should take about 36 hours. It’s a nice “back door” to and from our nation’s capital that is closed to vehicular traffic. Here’s hoping this will only stay a clever plan and nothing else.

  5. Jona says:

    Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if
    you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you protect
    against it, any plugin or anything you can advise?

    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very much appreciated.

    • Surprisingly, not so much. WordPress seems to have a decent filter–it actually categorized your comment here as spam (it had the word! AAAHH! panic!). But I don’t get a whole lot of comments, legit or otherwise.

  6. Will says:

    Well, I would not be surprised if you had a larger audience reading *and* lurking than one might suspect. I enjoy what you are doing here. More importantly, that sinking feeling we Americans are getting (in response to certain current events) should be alerting us…to action.

    • Hi, and welcome! Indeed, we *should* be acting. And prepping is/should be bipartisan, even if how either group goes about it is somewhat different.
      As to my audience, it certainly seems to be growing since the election. (With a wave to the silent masses out there–Hi! Come on in, and sit a while…)

Leave a Reply

