Don’t Forget

So, I’ve got my popcorn popped for former FBI Director Comey’s Congressional testimony–tomorrow, as I write this (‘later today’ when it gets posted).  It should be exciting–he’s being very careful not to say “obstruction,” but he’s implying it really hard. I doubt it’ll be enough to move the Republicans in Congress to do anything just yet, but one can always hope.  (Although I have very mixed sentiments towards Pence–on the one hand, he’s not Trump…  But on the other hand, he’s Pence.)

And did you catch what Trump’s son Eric said about Democrats?  On national TV, no less.  “Not human”? Wow, that’s like… Something straight out of 1939 Germany.  (Wasn’t that one of the rationales for the Holocaust?  “Well, it’s not like they’re people or anything…”) It was despicable then, and it’s despicable now. There’s demonizing your opponent, but “not human” is taking it to a much lower level.

In the meantime, while I was going to talk about cooking gear, I’ve decided to change things up a bit and go quickly over another list that I came across: “50 Survival Items You Forgot to Buy”, from urbansurvivalsite.com.  There are lists out there in abundance–but this one lists the “secondary items,” so to speak, that we tend not to think about until well after the fact.  It’s a bit geared for a full-on end-of-the-world “fast crash,” but it’s just outside the box enough that it might spur some creative juices for your preps.  I’ll probably break this up into two or three posts–50 things is a rather long list–but again, it’s the busy time of year on a homestead.  That’s my excuse, yeah…

Here we go, the first tranche of things, with my paraphrasing of their reasoning, followed by my commentary in parenthesis:

  1. Acoustic instruments, for entertainment and morale.  (No complaint from me… although if you’re the “we have to hide from marauding bands” type, you may want to think twice about this one.)
  2. Aluminum foil, for all sorts of things.  (Again, I like where they’re going.  In a pinch, foil can be used to “build” cookware; it wraps food nicely for cooking; it’s a light block… Tons of uses. I won’t get into its usefulness for hats… that would be too cliche.)
  3. Axes, for chopping firewood.  (I’m still with it.  Also good for a number of other minor chores; I’ve even seen people do fine detail-carving with axes. If they were good enough for the Vikings, they’re good enough for me.)
  4. Baby wipes, for keeping clean. (Since we’re talking emergencies, then yes. With the right containers, things like this can be made… but I prefer to use cloth wipes, since they have lots of other potential uses–and they can be washed, if you have the water available.)
  5. Baseballs, basketballs, footballs, etc., for morale.  (Good idea–but I’d be hesitant to suggest a game of pick-up football in a full-on emergency.)
  6. Bicycle Gear, for repairing or fixing up a bike. (This one I like–bikes are the most efficient mode of human-powered transport out there, and they’re nice and quiet, and the bikes can be rigged to supply power or do other work, if you’re creative.)
  7. Book lights, to not use up flashlight batteries or candles. (I can’t really argue with this, although if you’re “Mad Max-ing” it, the light at night might attract unwanted attention.)
  8. Books, for your down time. (Zero argument here, at all; but then, being a bookworm, I’m wondering how you could possibly forget to have books…)
  9. Bug spray, for mosquitoes, roaches, and other critters. (Reasonable, I suppose; I’d worry about expiration dates/viability of the various chemicals–but that’s reason to use them, and rotate your stock, right?)
  10. Bouillon cubes, for adding flavor to food. (Should probably be a regular part of your food stores; kept dry and reasonably cool, these things will last near forever.)
  11. Calendars, for keeping track of the date. (I keep a journal, and include month-by-month calendars in that. Not saying it’s better, but it’s another option.)
  12. Candy, for morale. (Again, it’s a part of my normal food stores; the trouble is keeping it rationed!)
  13. Cast iron cookware, for use over cookfires. (Many household pots and pans just can’t handle that kind of heat–or, at the least, not often or for long. I’m fond of cast iron for cooking in any case.)
  14. Cloth diapers, for cleanup because they’re absorbent. (See my comment above about washcloths.  These would work, though.)
  15. Clotheslines and clothespins, for laundry.  (No electricity, no dryer; I much prefer line-dried clothing, anyway.)

That’ll do it for this installment–there’s still quite a bit to go.  Next time around, I’ll try to hit the cooking portion of the “Big List” we’ve been doing the last few months, then I’ll get back to this list.  Stick around!

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Critical Thought, Gear, Lists, Planning, Quick and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Forget

Leave a Reply

