A Bit Late

I’m a few hours late getting this post up, but it’s been a gray, dreary week or so here in the mid-Atlantic, and its been hard to get the motivation to do much of anything at all.

That being said, we’ve been prepping the garden for the coming spring; we’re in the process of replacing our wooden raised beds with cement blocks. The wood was fine for a few seasons, but inevitably started to rot out. We’re pouring our own modular blocks (similar in some ways to making life-sized building blocks), and the results are both aesthetically pleasing and sure to last much longer than the wood. They have the added benefit of being a bit taller than the wooden ones, which will help to keep the dogs from tramping through them…

Our “temporary” greenhouse is also up, and we intend to rig it with heaters for the cool nights, and fans to keep the air moving; I believe we’re going to be starting some of our seeds in the next week or two. This is a temporary solution, because the longer-term solution involves building a greenhouse structure where we’ve placed the temporary one. It’s in the chicken run, beside the coop, and flush against the west side of the barn. If anything, it might get too hot in the summer for anything, but that’s the nature of greenhouses.

Most of my beehives appear to have survived the winter; I had actually anticipated one more dying than actually did. I had six last summer; I figured two or three wouldn’t make it, for one reason or another. As I write this, I’ve got five–but one of them is just hanging on by a thread, so my prediction might end up having been spot-on. I’ve seen one dandelion in the fields; they’re normally the “starting gun” for the bees to begin. I’m also watching the various bushes and shrubs bud out and prepare to leaf and bloom.

One thing I’ve done this year that I hadn’t in previous years is make cuttings of my elderberry bushes, with the intention of planting more. The cuttings (maybe 15 or 20 of them) appear to be doing quite well, and I plan to transplant them in mid- to late-April. I also took some of the “less attractive” cuttings and put them along a berm we’ve built on the property (helping deflect run-off from the neighboring subdivision), just to see if any of them “take.” If so, that’s more plants, but if not, nothing really lost.

We have plans to start some pawpaw trees this year, as well. A neighbor has a few trees started, but they’re a couple of years from bearing; there are several trees down along the local riverbanks as well. We acquired seeds from three varietals last fall, and have been nursing them along, winterizing them. Hopefully, in five or so years, we can have a tasty late-summer treat.

We’ve also been discussing taking the household a little more “off-grid” this year. By this, I mean investing in a (professionally-installed) solar array. Unless we can find someone with an innovative solution, we’ll be fully grid-tied, meaning that in the event of a power outage, we’ll still be in the dark. (My wife doesn’t feel confident that we can arrange a full-house-power battery system right now; I’m hoping that the state of the art advances a little more in the next few years to make it really feasible.) Fortunately, we haven’t had an outage lasting more than a minute in the decade we’ve been here. Either way, it will ease (or, more likely, eliminate) our power bills, and give one more bit of resiliency.

That’s a fairly quick rundown of the current state of affairs here; how are things in your neck of the woods?

About leftwingsurvivalist

I'm a survivalist and prepper with a difference!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Bit Late

  1. AntiSocial says:

    I like your idea of using cement blocks in place of wood for the raised gardens! I will need to consider that. I have started seeds indoors, and fingers crossed that they do not outgrow their pots before the weather allows for transplanting outdoors.

    • We specifically use the block forms designed by Man About Tools (on YouTube). They’re a bit of work, but suit our needs well. Pre-made cinder blocks are also an option.

  2. mstewart54 says:

    Talk to the solar companies you’re researching. They can install a transfer switch that will disconnect you from the grid. It costs more (I don’t think it’s prohibitive.) and there may be some fees, utilities rules etc., but I’ve repped a couple of solar companies and they all said they could do that, they just don’t offer it upfront (and unfortunately end up dealing with the negative customer review afterwards…which I tried to convince them to deal with upfront). Anyhoo, it’s not that “innovative” for them. Of course, you will want batteries for optimal use…and there are very good battery companies not named Tesla that are much cheaper.

  3. mtxdoc says:

    We have plenty of solar now, but are still grid-tied. We have a battery bank charged by the panels, and can run quite a few items for a awhile. Getting off the grid would still be a big step, though. Still, one we keep noodling on. Thanks for the update.

Leave a comment